

2012 Germanic Languages and Literatures Awards Reception

3:30 p.m. Monday, June 4, 2012

Max Kade German House, 141 W 11th Ave.

Elizabeth Gordon and Alex Holznienkemper Graduate Research Paper Awards

Kevin Richards and Alex Holznienkemper Graduate Service Awards in German

> Daniel Berens Dieter Cunz Award

Nathan Miller Ilsedore Edse Scholarship

William Baker and Yuchen Lin Undergraduate Essay Awards German

germanic.osu.edu



www.facebook.com/germanicosuedu

www.facebook.com/Scandinavian.OSU

2012 Fulbright

Elizabeth (Betsy) Akins Austrian Ministry of Education Teaching Assistantship

2012 ASC Undergraduate Research Scholarship

Amy JonesA Trilingual Translation of Lyric Poems of MarcelineDesbordes-Valmore and Helmina von ChézyAdvisors: May Mergenthaler, Louisa Shea

Study Abroad Scholarships, Grants, and Awards

Andrew Armbruster	Jutta & Peter Neckermann Study Abroad Scholarship
Lars Benthien	Study Abroad in Uppsala, Sweden
Kenny Coburn	Jutta & Peter Neckermann Study Abroad Scholarship
Monica Hamblet	The George and Emily Severinghaus Beck Fund Scholarship for Study at the Vilnius Yiddish Institute
Ivo Ivanoff	Huntington International Scholarship; Undergraduate International Experiences Grant
Brianne Pragg	Study Abroad in Uppsala, Sweden
Kersey Schott	Wolfe Study Abroad Scholarship
Jessica Lynn Wright	Jutta & Peter Neckermann Study Abroad Scholarship

Congratulations to David DeMiglio (graduated WI 11) who will be starting his MA in Economics & Management Science at Humboldt University in the fall.

Congratulations to the two student organizations founded this spring: *Scandinavian Club* - Adam J. Carl, President, and *Saga Club* (the unofficial reading group is now an official student organization) - Rachel Waymel, President, and Gen Gornichec, Treasurer.

Congratulations to our seniors graduating with Majors and Minors in German and Minors in Scandinavian!

Michaela Aitken Madison Ammerman Samantha Bechtold Sarah Best Scott Bierwirth Mathias Bustamante Cory Balogh Grace Diffenbacher Kevin Donahue Christopher Fechner Clayton Finken Garth Fox Kevan Gallion David Garman Jennifer Gaupel Allison Gillogly **Catherine Hatten** Sarah Herald Claire Herbert **Richard Hoover** Christian Hubbs Derek Johnson Katherine Karnitis Margaret Kittila

Brian Kress Lance Louth Jeffrey Mantkowski May Matsunami Christopher Matzenbach McKenna Meyer Andrew Mierzwiak Kathryn Mills Zachary Motter Andrea Mueller Alaina Murphy Esra Ozturk Allison Perry Natalie Pretzman Rachel Reis Brian Rinz Layne Schroeder Stefanie Schulyk Anne-Marie Simon Emily Wessel Stephen Williams Tyler Williams Adam Ziegel

New Ph.D.s

Kristen Hetrick and Charlie Vannette

New *magistri/magistrae artium* Luke Bauer and Zoe Biller

Scholarships for graduate study in Germany Sarah Larson (TU-Dresden) and Jonathan Smith (FU-Berlin)